The Best Laid Plans

When all the plans have been made, the only thing left is to enjoy the experience.
When all the plans have been made, the only thing left is to enjoy the experience.

I am a planner.  A researcher.  An organizer.   I love the process of developing a plan.  I research all options to exhaustion before coming up with a great idea for a TRIP.  I can’t be the only one!

I spy on campgrounds and individual campsites from Google Earth to see which might be the best spot.  I obsess over hiking trails and topo maps looking for rewarding daytime treks.

Planning and packing!
Planning and packing!

I read reviews for local restaurants to find a yummy post-hike meal.  After months of planning and obsessing over all points of the trip, I can hardly contain myself when it arrives!

When it does finally come, I am like a kid on Christmas.  I am so excited to be there that I let all the planning go and just enjoy myself.  Don’t get me wrong, it IS helpful to know where a trailhead is located or if the dive on the corner has the best pizza, but the plan does not dictate my trip.

I have learned that the fastest way to have a bad trip is to have a rigid plan.  While I enjoy the planning process (okay, I love it!), I know the plan is there to give me options, not to dictate my every move.  So I encourage all of you planners to embrace your plan, but also to let it go and enjoy the moment.

Time to start making plans for 2016!

Leave a Reply

