Take out the trash

My computer has been yelling at me for some time now that I am almost out of space.  What that means to me is that my updates aren’t installing and things aren’t running too fast.  I understand from my IT husband that we can install a larger drive and this will give me more space so things will run better.  What I know, deep down, is that my photo hoarding is root of this problem and it is time to clean house.

One of the many images I permanently deleted today.  It is not my best work...
One of the many images I permanently deleted today. It is not my best work…

In my physical life, I am a great purger of unnecessary stuff; just yesterday I took donations to the public library and Goodwill.  My technical life, on the other hand, is a nightmare world of ill-named files, copies of copies of copies of bad photographs, duplicate music files, and half-written blog posts that I will never finish.  My computer hard drive is the junk drawer of my life.

I decided to go through my photos and clean house.  Thanks to digital camera technology I can take gazillions of photos.  Today I permanently deleted about a thousand, maybe more, but it’s a start, right?

Leave a Reply

